Grillo-Werke AG receives awards from VCI

 

True to our company philosophy “Progress as a Tradition”, we have, in all our divisions and since the foundation of our company, focused on the development of new processes, techniques and materials as well as chemicals in order to optimize our products.

As an innovative company, we also assume the responsibility we bear regarding the conservation and protection of the environment. The conservation of resources, product safety and occupational safety are key elements of our company strategy.

Therefore, we are both delighted and proud that our commitment to sustainability has been recognized in the form of numerous awards.

Grillo wins two prizes in the 2017 VCI Responsible Care competition

As a country poor in natural resources, Germany is reliant on the importation of raw materials. The efficient and sustainable use of waste materials is therefore of central significance to the German economy.

“We have good ideas for the circular economy” – that was the motto of the 2017 Responsible Care competition held by the German chemical industry association VCI (Verband der Chemischen Industrie). In this context, a prize was awarded to Grillo-Werke AG (Duisburg, Germany) and Aurubis (Lünen, Germany) for their joint project. This sustainable project which follows the principles of „short distances“ and demonstrates a traceable and close resource recycling cycle for copper, zinc and other valuable metals was regarded by the jury as a prime example for the circular economy. This innovative co-operation between two industrial companies located in North Rhine-Westphalia led to them being awarded first prize in their region and second prize in Germany.

This long-term project not only ensures the future of the zinc sulphate unit at the production site in Duisburg-Hamborn, which is the most important unit for the production of zinc sulphate in the EU, but also consequently secures numerous jobs in our region.

 

Grillo is awarded first prize in the 2016 VCI NRW Responsible Care competition

The project „New standards for the safety technology of pressure tank cars” is the winner of the 2016 Responsible Care competition held by VCI NRW (North Rhine-Westphalia) and entitled “25 years of Responsible Care – Our best project” in the category “Transport safety”. The award ceremony took place on June 1st on the occasion of the parliamentary evening of VCI NRW. In his speech, Professor Dr. Dröscher, Cluster Manager of Chemie.NRW and President of the jury made up of various experts from the companies, said: “Grillo has, in collaboration with Wascosa, developed a pressure tank car which significantly enhances safety in tank car transportation thanks to its innovative safety elements. Today, more than 1,000 of these tank cars are in use and European regulations have also already been adapted to fit these new developments. This tangible improvement in transport safety in the field of rail haulage has impressed the jury and rightly wins the award in the category ‘Transport safety’.” Professor Dr. Dröscher, Dr. Papke, Vice President of the Landtag (German state parliament), and Dr. Hilken, Chairman of the Executive Board of VCI NRW, jointly presented Dr. Schulte with the prize.

Grillo-Werke AG erhält Auszeichnungen vom VCI

 

Getreu unserem Leitsatz „Fortschritt als Tradition“ ist seit der Gründung des Unternehmens die Entwicklung neuer Verfahren, Prozesse, Werkstoffe sowie Chemikalien in allen Geschäftsbereichen ein Kernthema, um unsere Produkte zu optimieren.

Als ein innovatives Unternehmen stellen wir uns aber auch der Verantwortung, die wir für den Erhalt und Schutz der Umwelt tragen. Ressourcenschonung und Produktsicherheit sowie Arbeitssicherheit und Gesundheitsschutz sind wesentliche Bestandteile unserer Unternehmensstrategie.

Darum freuen wir uns und sind stolz, dass unser Nachhaltigkeitsengagement über vielfältige Auszeichnungen anerkannt wird.

Gleich zwei Gewinne im VCI Responsible Care-Wettbewerb für Grillo im Jahre 2017

Als rohstoffarmes Land ist Deutschland auf den Import von Rohstoffen angewiesen. Die effiziente und nachhaltige Nutzung von Abfallstoffen ist daher von zentraler Bedeutung für die deutsche Wirtschaft.

„Wir haben gute Ideen zur Kreislaufwirtschaft“ – unter diesem Motto stand 2017 der Responsible-Care-Wettbewerb des Verbands der Chemischen Industrie (VCI). In diesem Jahr wurde ein gemeinsames Projekt der Grillo-Werke und der Firma Aurubis aus Lünen ausgezeichnet. Dieses nachhaltige Projekt der kurzen Wege mit einem nachweisbaren, lückenlosen Wertstoffkreislauf für Kupfer, Zink und andere wertvolle Metalle wurde von der Jury als ein Paradebeispiel für die Kreislaufwirtschaft angesehen. In NRW wurde diese innovative Kooperation zwischen zwei Industrieunternehmen in Nordrhein-Westfalen mit dem ersten Platz und im Bund mit dem zweiten Platz ausgezeichnet.

Dieses Langzeitprojekt sichert die Zukunft der Zinksulfat-Anlage am Standort Duisburg-Hamborn – die bedeutendste Anlage zur Herstellung von Zinksulfat in der EU – und damit auch zahlreiche Arbeitsplätze für unsere Region.

 

Grillo erhält 2016 den 1. Preis des VCI NRW Responsible-Care-Wettbewerbs

Das Projekt „Neue Maßstäbe an die Sicherheitstechnik von Druckkesselwagen“ ist 2016 Sieger des diesjährigen RC-Preises des VCI NRW „25 Jahre RC – Unser bestes Projekt“ in der Kategorie „Transportsicherheit“ geworden. Die Preisverleihung fand auf dem Parlamentarischen Abend des VCI NRW am 1. Juni statt. Prof. Dr. Dröscher, Clustermanager Chemie.NRW und Vorsitzender der Jury verschiedener Fachleute aus den Unternehmen, übernahm die Laudatio: „Grillo hat gemeinsam mit Wascosa einen Druckkesselwagen entwickelt, der durch seine innovativen Sicherheitselemente die Sicherheit im Bereich der Tankkesseltransporte maßgeblich erhöht. Mittlerweile sind mehr als 1.000 dieser Kesselwagen im Einsatz und auch europäische Regelungen wurden bereits durch diese neuen Entwicklungen angepasst. Diese deutliche Verbessern der Transportsicherheit im Bereich der Schienentransporte hat die Jury beeindruckt und war einen Sieg in der Kategorie Transportsicherheit wert.“ Er überreichte gemeinsam mit dem stv. Landtagspräsidenten Dr. Papke und dem Vorsitzenden des Vorstandes VCI NRW Dr. Hilken den Preis an Herrn Dr. Schulte.