COMPANY PORTRAIT

Founding fathers
Wilhelm Grillo was one of the founding fathers of industry in the Ruhr region. He was a man with enormous energy, visionary thinking and social involvement, and he started an impressive business development programme in 1842, when he was just 23. A hardware store in Mülheim an der Ruhr was followed by a zinc rolling mill in Duisburg-Neumühl in 1849. Only a few years later – in 1855 – he founded the first production plants for zinc oxide in Oberhausen, alongside two rolling mills and a gas production plant.

History
From 1881, the crude zinc needed by the plants in Oberhausen was produced in a proprietary smelting plant in Duisburg-Hamborn. Liquid sulphur dioxide and sulphuric acid were by-products of this process. A rolling mill was also erected in Hamborn after the turn of the century.

The next generation
Two years after passing on the company to his sons Julius, August and Wilhelm Jr., the company founder died. With effect from 01/01/1894, his sons converted the company, which had previously been a general partnership, into a “Aktiengesellschaft für Zinkindustrie vormals Wilhelm Grillo” (Limited company for zinc industry, previously Wilhelm Grillo).

Development
By the beginning of the Second World War, the company had developed into the largest zinc semi-finished product and zinc oxide manufacturer and SO2-supplier in Germany. After the wartime disruption of almost the entire production, an attempt was made with great difficulty to rebuild the production facilities – excluding the zinc smelting works. Aside from the development and expansion of its own plants, Grillo was involved in a multitude of companies. In 1974, after 120 years, Grillo withdrew completely from Oberhausen.

Location
Since then, the focal points for the traditional Metal and Chemicals Divisions have been in Duisburg-Hamborn and in Frankfurt since 1997, with Goslar being the location for zinc oxide. RHEINZINK, co-founded by Grillo in 1966 and now a full subsidiary, has its rolling mill and administration located in Datteln and markets its zinc construction products through its own branches and/or companies on all continents.

Except for the period between 1988 and 1994, Grillo-Werke AG has always been 100% owned by the Grillo family, i.e. descendants of the company founder Wilhelm Grillo, who are still in charge of the company today.

1842
Founding of a hardware store by Wilhelm Grillo
1849
Founding of a zinc rolling mill in Neumühl by Wilhelm Grillo
1870
Founding of the Wilhelm Grillo company’s factory health insurance scheme
1894
Name change to Aktiengesellschaft für Zinkindustrie
1911
Founding of Metall- und Farbwerke GmbH
1966
Renaming of the Aktiengesellschaft für Zinkindustrie to Grillo-Werke AG
1966
Founding of RHEINZINK GmbH
1974
Founding of Metra Non-Ferrous Metals Ltd.
1990
Metall- und Farbwerke GmbH renamed Grillo Zinkoxid GmbH
1992
Founding of Grillo Chemie GmbH
1993
Founding of the Grillo Immobilienverwaltungsgesellschaft GmbH & Co. KG
1994

Founding of ASB Informationstechnik GmbH

Founding of CHEMAD Chemische Analytik Duisburg GmbH

1997

Acquisition of the sulphuric acid processes in the Frankfurt-Höchst Industrial Park

Acquisition of Zinacor S.A.

1999

Renaming of RHEINZINK GmbH into RHEINZINK GmbH & Co. KG

Founding of RHEINZINK Holding GmbH

Acquisition of Hoesch Dürener Dach- und Fassadentechnik GmbH

2001
Renaming of CHEMAD Chemische Analytik Duisburg GmbH into CHEMAD GmbH
2007
Acquisition of the DMS plant
2009
Completion of the new administration building
2011
Completion of the structural restoration of the Grillo-Villa
2012
Construction and commissioning of the DME plant in Frankfurt-Höchst Industrial Park

UNTERNEHMENSPORTRAIT

Gründerväter
Wilhelm Grillo gehörte zu den Gründervätern der Ruhr-Industrie. Er war ein Mann mit großer Energie, visionärem Denken und sozialem Engagement und begann 1842 als gerade 23-Jähriger einen beeindruckenden Unternehmensaufbau. Einer Eisenwarenhandlung in Mülheim an der Ruhr folgend, gründete er schon 1849 ein Zinkwalzwerk in Duisburg-Neumühl. Schon wenige Jahre später – im Jahre 1855 – errichtete er in Oberhausen neben zwei Walzstraßen und einer Gaserzeugungsanlage erste Produktionsstätten für Zinkweiss.

Geschichte
Ab 1881 wurde das von den Oberhausener Betrieben benötigte Rohzink in einer eigenen Hütte in Duisburg-Hamborn erzeugt. Flüssiges Schwefeldioxid und Schwefelsäure wurden dabei als Bei-Produkte erzeugt. In Hamborn wurde nach der Jahrhundertwende auch ein Walzwerk eingerichtet.

Nachwuchs
Zwei Jahre nachdem er die Firma seinen Söhnen Julius, August und Wilhelm (jun.) übertragen hatte, verstarb der Firmengründer. Mit Wirkung zum 01.01.1894 wandelten seine Söhne die bisher als offene Handelsgesellschaft geführte Firma in eine „Aktiengesellschaft für Zinkindustrie vormals Wilhelm Grillo“ um.

Entwicklung
Bis zum Beginn des 2. Weltkrieges entwickelte sich das Unternehmen zum größten Zinkhalbzeug- und Zinkweisshersteller sowie SO2-Verkäufer in Deutschland. Nach dem kriegsbedingten Erliegen nahezu der gesamten Produktion begann man unter großen Schwierigkeiten mit dem Wiederaufbau der Produktionsanlagen – mit Ausnahme der Zinkhütte. Neben dem Auf- und Ausbau der eigenen Werke beteiligte sich Grillo an einer Vielzahl von Unternehmen. 1974 zog sich Grillo nach 120 Jahren aus Oberhausen ganz zurück.

Standort
Die Schwerpunkte für die traditionellen Bereiche Metall und Chemie liegen seitdem in Duisburg-Hamborn und seit 1997 in Frankfurt, für den Bereich Zinkoxid in Goslar. Die 1966 von Grillo mitgegründete und nunmehr vollständig im Besitz befindliche RHEINZINK hat ihr Walzwerk und die Verwaltung in Datteln und vertreibt ihre Bauzinkprodukte über eigene Niederlassungen bzw. Gesellschaften auf allen Kontinenten.

Die Grillo-Werke AG gehörte mit Ausnahme der Periode von 1988 bis 1994 immer zu 100 % der Familie Grillo, d. h. Abkömmlingen des Firmengründers Wilhelm Grillo, die das Unternehmen auch heute führt.

1842
Gründung einer Eisenwarenhandlung durch Wilhelm Grillo
1849
Gründung des Zinkwalzwerkes in Neumühl durch Wilhelm Grillo
1870
Gründung der Fabrik-Krankenkasse der Unternehmung Wilhelm Grillo
1894
Umfirmierung in Aktiengesellschaft für Zinkindustrie
1911
Gründung der Metall- und Farbwerke GmbH
1966
Umfirmierung der Aktiengesellschaft für Zinkindustrie in Grillo-Werke AG
1966
Gründung der RHEINZINK GmbH
1974
Gründung der Metra Non-Ferrous Metals Ltd.
1990
Metall- und Farbwerke GmbH wird umbenannt in Grillo Zinkoxid GmbH
1992
Gründung der Grillo Chemie GmbH
1993
Gründung der Grillo Immobilienverwaltungsgesellschaft GmbH & Co. KG
1994

Gründung der ASB Informationstechnik GmbH

Gründung der CHEMAD chemische Analytik Duisburg GmbH

1997

Kauf der Schwefelsäure-Aktivitäten im Industriepark Frankfurt-Höchst

Erwerb der Zinacor S.A.

1999

Umfirmierung der RHEINZINK GmbH in RHEINZINK GmbH & CO. KG

Gründung der RHEINZINK Holding GmbH

Erwerb der Hoesch Dürener Dach- und Fassadentechnik GmbH

2001
Umfirmierung der CHEMAD chemische Analytik Duisburg GmbH in CHEMAD GmbH
2007
Kauf der DMS-Anlage
2009
Fertigstellung der neuen Hauptverwaltung
2011
Fertigstellung der Kernsanierung der Grillo-Villa
2012
Bau und Inbetriebnahme der DME-Anlage im Industriepark Frankfurt-Höchst